NZDS 2010: New Zealand Development Scholarships For Undergraduate and Postgraduate

The New Zealand Development Scholarships (NZDS) scheme offers the opportunity to people from selected developing countries to undertake development-related studies in New Zealand. This may include study related to education, health, rural livelihoods, governance, human rights, or economic development, depending on the human resource development training needs of the home government.

New Zealand - Development Scholarships are offered for full-time, tertiary level study at participating New Zealand education institutions.

The NZDS scheme has two categories:
  1. New Zealand Development Scholarships – Public category (NZDS-Public)
  2. New Zealand Development Scholarships – Open category (NZDS-Open)


The NZDS-Public scholarships scheme is a bilateral scheme available to individuals from selected partner countries in:

Southeast Asia:

and the Pacific:

The selection criteria is determined by the partner government and NZAID.

Shortlisted applications, mostly from public sector employees, are endorsed for a scholarship by the partner government. Employees from civil society or private sector organisations may apply for the NZDS-Public in some countries depending on country-specific selection criteria. The levels and fields of study available for study in New Zealand are determined according to the partner country’s human resource development training needs.

Related Links

NZDS-Public country eligibility:

NZDS-Public application process:


The NZDS-Open scholarships scheme is a non-bilateral scheme available to candidates of some developing countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Pacific. Under the NZDS-Open scheme, candidates independently apply for a scholarship.

NZDS-Open scholarships are generally directed at employees of private sector or civil society sector organisations, including non-governmental organisations. In some countries, public sector employees can also apply for a NZDS-Open scholarship depending on the country or region-specific selection criteria. This criteria also determines the levels and the fields of study under which candidates can apply to study in New Zealand.

Related Links

NZDS-Open country eligibility:

NZDS-Open application process | Bolivia, Ecuador, Honduras, Indonesia, Kenya, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Philippines, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe:

NZDS-Open application process | Cambodia and Lao PDR:

NZDS-Open application process | Argentina, Brazil, Chile, El Salvador, Guatemala, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay:

NZDS-Open application process | Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu:

NZDS-Open application process | Samoa:

More Information:

0 Comment:

Post a Comment

Recent Comments